About Us

The Like-Minded Mega diverse Countries (LMMC) is a group of countries that harbor the majority of the Earth’s species and are therefore considered extremely biodiversity. They are rich in biological diversity (60-70% of the world’s biodiversity) and associated traditional knowledge.

These countries have effectively joined efforts in negotiating the development of the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits arising from their utilization to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD), which was adopted in Japan in 2010. 18 in total, these countries are located in, or partially in, tropical or subtropical regions.

In February 2002, the Ministers in charge of the Environment and the Delegates of Bolivia, Brazil, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Venezuela, assembled in the Mexican City of Cancún. These countries declared to set up a Group of Like-Minded Mega diverse Countries as a mechanism for consultation and cooperation so that their interests and priorities related to the preservation and sustainable use of biological diversity could be promoted.


They also declared that they would call on those countries that had not become Parties to the CBD, the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety, and the Kyoto Protocol on climate change to become parties to these agreements.

At the same time, they agreed to meet periodically, at the ministerial and expert levels, and decided that upon the conclusion of each annual ministerial meeting, the next rotating host country would take on the role of Secretary of the group, to ensure its continuity, the further development of cooperation among these countries and to reach the agreements and objectives set forth.