The group has held numerous meetings since its establishment in 2002. The meetings of the group are guided by the Rules of Procedure, which were adopted in Malaysia on 17 February 2004. The latest meeting of the group was held in Montreal, Canada, on 13 October 2013, on the margins of the seventeenth meeting of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA) to the CBD, under the chairmanship of South Africa. The purpose of the meeting was to look at the history and original purpose of the formulation of the group, what the group has achieved, what was outstanding, whether it was worth continuing as a group and if so what should be the roadmap. The group is also scheduled to meet on the margins of the third meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee for the Nagoya Protocol on ABS, which was held in the Republic of Korea from 24-28 February 2014.

Declarations and Rules


The Executive Secretary is circulating herewith, for the information of participants in the thirteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, the Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries Carta to Achieve Aichi Biodiversity Target 11. The Carta was adopted by the Group on 3 December 2016, on the margins of the high-level segment of the thirteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, in Cancun, Mexico.



Cancun declaration of Like-Minded Megadiversity Countries

This declaration was presented by The Ministers in charge of the Environment and the Delegates of Brazil, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Mexico, Peru, South Africa and Venezuela, assembled in Cancun, Mexico, on February 18, 2002.

Cancun Declaration


Cusco declaration on access to genetic resources, traditional knowledge and intellectual property rights of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries

This declaration was presented by the State Ministers and high-ranking representatives of Bolivia, Brazil, China, Colombia,
Costa Rica, Ecuador, the Philippines, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, South Africa and Venezuela assembled in Peru’s Urubamba Valley, Cusco, on November 29, 2002.  Reaffirming the Cancun Declaration of February 18, 2002, by which means we decided to create the “Group of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries” as a consultation and cooperation mechanism in order to promote our common interests and priorities related to the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity.

Cusco Declaration


New Delhi Ministerial Declaration of Like Minded Megadiverse Countries on Access and Benefit Sharing

This Ministerial Declaration was presented by, the Ministers for Environment and the Delegates from Bolivia, Brazil, China, Colombia, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, and Venezuela, who met in New Delhi from 20-21 January 2005: Reaffirming that States have sovereign rights over their own biological resources.

New Delhi Ministerial Declaration of Like Minded Megadiverse Countries on ABS


Meeting Reports

Report of the Meeting of the Group of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries, Icao, Montreal, Canada, 13 October 2013, Chair South Africa

TIME: 13:00 – 18:00
The meeting commenced on the afternoon of the 13th October 2013 and was attended by delegates from the following countries: South Africa, China, Philippines, Malaysia, Colombia, Brazil, Mexico, and Guatemala.

 Report of meeting_sbstta_17-1


Challenges, past and future and the way forward – Phillipines,  GPMA 2011-2012, Montreal, Canadá, 13 October 2013.



Taking forward the Cancun declaration of Like-Minded Mega Diversity countries – South Africa 



SBSTTA 17, Montreal – Mexico 



LMMC Meeting Report November 3, 2015 Chaired by Guatemala

Guatemala as current president of the Group of the Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries (LMMC) convened to members of the group to attend to a coordination meeting with the aim of addressing relevant issues concerning the LMMC. This meeting was attended by thirteen members of the Group of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries, counting on the presence of Mexico, Colombia, Ecuador, Brazil, Peru, South Africa, Madagascar, India, Indonesia, The Philippines, Malaysia, China and Guatemala.


Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries Meeting Report , April 27th, 2016, Chaired by Guatemala

Chaired by Guatemala
Guatemala as current chair of the Group of the Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries (LMMC) convened a coordination meeting to share proposals for re-launching the Group in COP 13. This meeting was attended by the delegations of Mexico, Colombia, Peru, South Africa, Kenia, Philippines, China and Guatemala.



Meeting of Latin America Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries, Antigua Guatemala, August 25, 2016

The Government of Guatemala, through the National Council of Protected Areas, organized a meeting with delegates from Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries (LMMC) in Latin America that attended the “Joint Regional Preparatory Meeting for Latin America and the Caribbean for the seventeenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora and the Thirteenth Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity and associated meetings of the parties to the Protocols to the Convention on Biological Diversity “in Antigua Guatemala, Guatemala, from August 22 to 26, 2016. The meeting was held at the Arrin Cuan Typical Restaurant in the city of Antigua Guatemala, on August 25, 2016. 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., it was attended by delegates from Mexico, Costa Rica, Venezuela, Ecuador, Colombia, Peru, Bolivia , Brazil and Guatemala.


Guatemala, as Chairman of the Group of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries, presented during this important meeting proposals that highlight the historical role of the Group and the tangible contributions these countries are making to the conservation and sustainable use of biological diversity, which aims to increase awareness of the strategic value of biological diversity and the steps that can be followed for its conservation and sustainable use. First, the presentation of a promotional video and a proposal of a Carta from the Group of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries for the implementation of the Aichi Goal 11, which was adopted at COP 13, Cancun, Mexico.

Also, during this meeting, the candidacy of Ethiopia was presented to be part of the Group  of Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries.

Agenda, Breakfast-Meeting Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries, December 3rd 2016

LMMC breakfast meeting Draft Agenda_FINAL_2


Like-Minded Megadiverse Countries Presidency

In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, the chairperson of the group shall be elected by consensus of the ministerial meeting for a period of two years. These two years are usually the period between two meetings of the Conference of the Parties to the CBD. The chairpersons of the group since then have been as follows:

2009-2010: Brazil
2011-2012: Philippines
2013-2014: South Africa
2015-2016: Guatemala
2016-2017: Malaysia